December 30, 2011

AIGA Minnesota is pleased to announce that two current members of the board of directors have been elected to serve additional voting terms and one new member has been elected to serve as a non‑voting associate director.

Katrin Loss will be continuing in her role as the director of operations for a new 2‑year term with voting privileges. In this recently-revised leadership position, Katrin will oversee and improve systems and processes in support of AIGA Minnesota’s numerous and diverse programming needs, including event registration and satisfaction surveys, and interfacing directly with the national organization’s chief operating officer and related support teams.

Kirstie Walheim will serve for a 6‑month term extension with voting privileges, continuing her position as the chapter’s treasurer. An officer on the board of directors, the treasurer oversees the overall financial health of the chapter and acts as the primary advisor to and liaison between the board and the chapter’s financial resources and systems to ensure that chapter programs and activities are fiscally viable and supportive of the mission.

Natalie Janssen has been newly-elected to the board to serve a non-voting, 2‑year term as the associate director of emerging designers. In this role, she will lead the organization’s efforts to develop opportunities for the membership’s young professionals by strengthening connections to the chapter and the broader design community. Associate directors represent a specific constituency or affinity group within the larger organization and report to the director of affinity programming.

Twice each year, AIGA Minnesota welcomes new members to serve on its board of directors, leading efforts to shape the direction of the organization. For the term beginning January 1, 2012, a nominating committee recommended a slate of two nominees for consideration of open officer- and director‑level positions on the board. The slate was approved for ratification by a vote of the organization’s professional- and associate‑level members. Non‑voting associate directors are appointed by a majority vote of the board.

Governance of a membership organization requires a solid commitment from dedicated and enthusiastic volunteers with a variety of talents and attributes. For AIGA Minnesota, the board of directors is one of its distinct assets that serves and protects the brand and legacy of the organization. The board ideally represents a cross-section of thought leadership across the design profession, with each member taking charge of an area specifically suited to his or her talents and interests in order to benefit the full membership.

For more information

  • To view a list of all currently-serving AIGA Minnesota board members, click here.
  • For information about serving on the board, click here or contact Lisa Valley, director of volunteers.


Contact Leadership

Carla Januska
Carla Januska