2017 Portfolio 1-on-1® Scholarship Winners

In 2017, there were 55 portfolio entries competing for a total of eight scholarships. It was all the judges could do to narrow these entries down to the final eight, representing five universities and colleges from three states. AIGA Minnesota congratulates the 2017 winners and thanks the scholarship sponsors for their generous support.

Scholarship Awards & Winners

AIGA Minnesota: $1,500 Nick Christy, Concordia University, St. Paul. See winning portfolio here.

AIGA Minnesota: $1,500 Hans Slade, University of Minnesota. See winning portfolio here.

Clockwork: $1,500 Leonardo Cleto, Fort Hayes State University, Kansas. See winning portfolio here.

AIGA Minnesota Fellows: $1,500 Heather Homa, North Hennepin Community College. See winning portfolio here.

Franke + Fiorella: $1,500 Rishi Murugesan, University of Minnesota. See winning portfolio here.

Tim Larsen: $1,500 Nick Neary, Concordia University, St. Paul. See winning portfolio here.

Little & Co: $1,500 Dana Kingery, University of Minnesota. See winning portfolio here.

Smartpress: $1,500 Michael Guite, University of Wisconsin-Stout. See winning portfolio here.


Contact Leadership

Pete Rivard
Pete Rivard
Director of Education
Pete Rivard is a thirty-seven year industry veteran and graphics production professional. For the past eighteen years he has been Principal Instructor- Pre-Media and Packaging Design in the Design and Graphics program at Dunwoody College of Technology. Prior to that he was International Paper’s Technical Support and Training Specialist for the Upper Midwest.

Rivard also has thirteen years experience in prepress production and management roles in Texas, Pennsylvania and Minnesota. He has a Bachelor’s degree in Applied Management and holds industry certifications in digital press operation, prepress and flexography.

Rivard is an accomplished 5-string banjoist and plays in an Americana band with his daughter Carrie, an awesome musician herself.