Board MembersĀ Are Elected by You

Several times a year, AIGA Minnesota welcomes new members to its board of directors to help shape the direction of the organization. We are delighted to submit for your consideration and vote the following slate for the AIGA Minnesota board of directors. A nominating committee has recommended the following individuals for a 2-year term:

  • Matt Lowe, Director of Communications
  • Carissa MacLennan, Secretary

Ballots must be received no later than 5:00pm CST on Thursday, December 31, 2020.

Matt Lowe

Matt’s weekdays are spent designing and building brands, websites, animations, and all manner of colorful things for clients under the pseudonym Check One Two. This, however, is just a way to trick people into believing he’s a contributing member of society. When the weekend rolls around, his true self is revealed—Hot Dog Trombone. This meat-clad character wanders amongst the nightclubs of the Midwest with Porky’s Groove Machine entertaining whoever will listen. 

Carissa MacLennan

Carissa is a graphic designer in-house at Patterson Dental, where she pushes the creative boundaries of an established industry and shares inspiration, tips, and productivity hacks with her teammates on the regular. In her spare time, she runs Sunday Soap Co., a bath & body company, where she explores chemistry, art, and entrepreneurialism. She is self-described as infinitely curious and has a revolving list of hobbies and things to learn. When she’s not taking on yet another hobby, she enjoys spending time with her husband, new baby, and two rescue cats. She is passionate about animal welfare, mental health, and women’s issues.

Consistent with AIGA Minnesota’s bylaws, the proposed slate is submitted to the voting membership for ratification. Supporting-, sustaining-, design leader-, and trustee-level members of AIGA Minnesota in good standing are entitled to vote in board member elections; contributor-level members and non-members are not entitled to vote. The vote is either for or against the entire slate. Ballots must be received no later than 5:00pm CST on Thursday, December 31, 2020.

Board members completing their service in 2020

We would like to thank the following individuals who have served, worked, and ideated all in your name for the past two (and sometimes even more) years on the AIGA Minnesota board of directors. Ted Kusio, Director of Alliances, Grant Hasbrouck, Director of Communications, Lydia Hoelzlhammer, Associate Director of Content Management, Abby Wichman, Associate Director of Social Media Engagement, Emily Weigel, Associate Director of Archives.

Board Members continuing their service

Heather Brooks, President
Carla Januska, Vice President
Julia Hunter Rancone, Director of Development
Bert Lee, Director of Education
Ashley Green, Director of Membership
Michelle Schulp, Director of Technology
Jenni Lathrop, Associate Director of Registration
Alex Esse, Associate Director of Students

Contact Leadership

Carla Januska
Carla Januska