Wed, Aug 7th, 6:00pm - 10:00pm
Solar Arts Building
711 NE 15th Ave, Minneapolis MN 55413

By attending an AIGA event, you agree to abide by the Code of Conduct.

When good design connects with powerful strategy, the results are truly electric! On August 7, come see the fruits of your labor, and mingle with the local creative community.

A reception to premiere and display the winning entries and celebrate the Minnesota design community will be held on August 7, from 7:00-9:00 pm. A panel discussion with the esteemed judges at 6:00 pm precedes the reveal of selected work. Note that limited tickets will be available for the panel discussion.

First things first: enter the 2019 AIGA Minnesota Design Show today to show us the power of your design. Entry deadline is July 24th, 2019.

Meet the Judges

Darin Michelle Gilliam
Darin Michelle Gilliam
Principal and Creative Director, Symmetry Agency

As a designer for over 10 years, Darin Michelle Gilliam has focused on creative consulting and design strategy for small businesses and organizations. Darin serves as the Principal and Creative Director for the Symmetry Agency - a boutique creative agency that focuses on branding, marketing, and content creation. When she is not designing with Symmetry, she is co-running ArtFarm Studios; a 3,200 sq ft art and studio space, or serving her arts community as the Director of Annapolis Arts Week.

Doug Powell
Doug Powell
Vice President of Design, IBM

Doug Powell is a designer with more than 30 years of experience in a wide range of design disciplines. A recipient of the 2014 Distinguished Alumni Award from the Sam Fox School of Design at Washington University in St. Louis, and the 2014 Fellow Award from AIGA Minnesota, Doug is a lecturer, commentator and thought leader on design issues. He has presented at a variety of conferences, forums, and universities including Beirut Design Week in Lebanon, the Offset design conference in Dublin, Ireland, and Yale School of Management. He was on the jury of the 2018 Smithsonian Cooper Hewitt National Design Awards. Between 2011-2013 Doug served as the national president of AIGA. Doug is Vice President of Design at IBM, with a concentration on designer practices and community.

Jeff Close
Jeff Close
Associate Partner, Pentagram

Jeff Close is a Canadian graphic designer. He is an Associate Partner at Pentagram in New York where he predominately designs brand identity systems. His work has been recognized by numerous organizations and publications, including AIGA, TDC, and It’s Nice That. His work aims to create dynamic, recognizable systems with a strong typographic focus.

Meg Vazquez
Meg Vázquez
Creative Director, Splice

Meg Vázquez is a designer and illustrator based out of Brooklyn, NY. She's currently Creative Director at Splice leading a team telling engaging stories about how modern music is being made. She was previously the Art Director at GQ Magazine and worked as a design lead on Hillary Clinton's campaign during the 2016 election.

Registration Fees

Show Opening + Panel Discussion (begins at 6 p.m.)

  • AIGA Member: $30
  • Non-member: $50
  • AIGA Student Member: $15
  • Student Non-member: $20

Show Opening Only (begins at 7 p.m.)

  • AIGA Member: $20
  • Non-member: $35
  • AIGA Student Member: $10
  • Student Non-member: $15

Registration closes August 6 at 5:00 p.m. CST
(or when tickets are sold out, whichever comes first)

About the Design Show

The AIGA Minnesota Design Show highlights the most exceptional design work being produced in the Upper Midwest and showcases the power of design in today’s culture. This competition is independently judged by leading design professionals from across the country and is structured around the entry’s ability to solve the problem of communicating both design’s effectiveness and aesthetic appeal. Selected entries are presented at the Design Show’s opening reception.

Need inspiration for your entries? View past Design Show Award Winners here. Follow @aigamn for up-to-date information. Questions? Email [email protected] for more information.

Event Sponsors